The following information is very important. Please ensure you have read and understood it before submitting your request.
It is your responsibility to keep your login details and password safe and secure. If you know or suspect that your record has been accessed by someone that you have not agreed should see it, then you should change your password immediately. If you are unable to do this for some reason, we recommend that you contact the practice so that they can remove online access until you are able to reset your password.
If you print out any information from your record, it is also your responsibility to keep this secure. If you are at all worried about keeping printed copies safe, we recommend that you do not make copies at all.
During the working day it is sometimes necessary for practice staff to add new information to your record, for example, to attach a document that has been received, or update something. Therefore you will notice admin/reception staff names alongside some of your medical information – this is quite normal.
The definition of a full medical record is all the information that is held in a patient’s record; this includes letters, documents, and any free text which has been added by practice staff, usually the GP. The coded record is all the information that is in the record in coded form, such as diagnoses, signs and symptoms (such as coughing, headache etc.) but excludes letters, documents and free text.
Before you apply for online access to your record, there are some other things to consider. Although the chances of any of these things happening are very small, you will be asked that you have read and understood the following before you are given login details.
There may be something you have forgotten about in your record that you might find upsetting.
If your GP has given you access to test results or letters, you may see something that you find upsetting to you. This may occur before you have spoken to your doctor or while the surgery is closed and you cannot contact them.
It’s up to you whether or not you share your information with others – perhaps family members or carers. It’s your choice, but also your responsibility to keep the information safe and secure.
If you think you may be pressured into revealing details from your patient record to someone else against your will, it is best that you do not register for access at this time.
Your medical record is designed to be used by clinical professionals to ensure that you receive the best possible care. Some of the information within your medical record may be highly technical, written by specialists and not easily understood. If you require further clarification, please contact the surgery for a clearer explanation.
If you spot something in the record that is not about you or notice any other errors, please log out of the system immediately and contact the practice as soon as possible.
For further information, please see the NHS online service information page.